Leek and Potato Soup.

My mother’s soup recipe, adapted from Julia Childs’s. Simple to make, freezes well, last for 3 days in the fridge. A salty, moreish soup and what I grew up on. My comfort food: It is full of love each time. I serve with Squid sauce if I have it, not a lot just a few drops, for the umami flavour. You don’t need to do this as it stands by itself; Just my personal taste. I also serve with 3 slices of bread (spreaded with soft butter come winter).


1. Peel potatoes, weigh and slice to about a 3mm thickness.

2. Remove first two layers of leeks, top and tail, wash, see if they are about the same weight as potatoes. The potato weight should not be less then leek but may weigh more. Chop leek to the same thickness as potato.

3. Pop both a pan, cover with water and add two teaspoons salt. Full heat until boiling then reduce to simmer until potatoes cooked. About 10 minutes.

4. Add a wedge of salted butter. I eye it usually by cutting it 3mm thick and is the smaller width of the block; not tons maybe about 25g.

5. Mash the soup with a potato masher until most the potato is smaller, not smooth - this is a rough soup, and broth has turned sort of green. Taste, add more butter if needed.

6. Serve.